Birds & baubles

Happy Friday all! 

I’m posting some crafts/home decor today rather than sewing.  I cannot take credit for these ideas.  Thanks for Prudent Baby and Honey and the Moon for these cool ways to dress up functional items.

Children’s Bathroom Stool

This is a plain white stool from Target that I got a wild hair to dress up after seeing PB’s project.  I bought this great book entitled “Charley Harper: An Illustrated Life” last Christmas.  It’s got all sorts of fabulous prints including a whole series on birds.  I’ve been cannibalizing it for art and decor purposes.   This was my first time using Mod Podge, and to be quite honest, I messed it up the first time.  The second time I had the help of a friend who’s an expert!  This round turned out wonderfully. 

Jewelry Storage

For ages I’ve been trying to figure out a good way to store jewelry.  I’ve always had it shoved in a drawer somewhere; consequently, I can’t see what I have and don’t wear but a couple of things.  I saw this idea and promptly stole it!  I found the frame in the 90% off clearance at Hobby Lobby, bought some foam and floral pins, and this great black & white fabric from the remnant bin.  A little hot glue and some foam core board and voila!  I’m happy with it.   It will hang in our new closet above my dreaded elfa shelving unit.

My next home decor project: making a cover for said elfa.  I just have to find the fabric and the time to do it!

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Birds & baubles

  1. Melissa

    You can cover Elfa?!?

Leave a Reply

